Luca Barcellona

CALLIGRAPHIE & LETTERING ARTIST
Milan, Italy

Luca Barcellona is born 1978 in Milan.

Letters are  the largest elements in his arts. He works with the “Associazione Calligrafica Italiana“, gives lectures and teaches workshops around the world. The way of his work makes the ancient art of writing and the language and tools of the digital age coexist. In 2003 he founded the collective Rebel Ink, with live exhibition of calligraphy, writing and illustration he breathes this life.

His clients include the biggest brands in the world, who use his logos and illustrations. His original works are exhibited, together with some of the greatest calligraphers in the collections of the San Francisco Public Library and the Berlin Calligraphy Collection Hans-Joachim Burgert in the Academy of Arts in Berlin, Werner Schneider, Denise Lach and Thomas.

He has his own studio in Milan, where he works as a freelance graphic designer and calligrapher. His experience led him on lettering of graffiti to classic calligraphy, to large mural performances, typography and letterpress.

www.yesnogallery.com/lucabarcellona • www.lucabarcellona.com

Luca Barcellona

CALLIGRAPHIE & LETTERING ARTIST
Mailand, Italien

Luca Barcellona ist 1978 in Mailand geboren.

Buchstaben sind der größte Bestandteil seiner Werke. Er arbeitet mit der „Associazione Calligrafica Italiana“, hält Vorträge und gibt Workshops rund um die Welt. Die Art und Weise seiner Arbeit lässt die alte Kunst des Schreibens und die Sprache und Instrumente des digitalem Zeitalters koexistieren. Im Jahr 2003 gründete er das Kollektiv Rebel Ink, mit Live-Ausstellung der Kalligraphie, Schreiben und Illustration haucht er diesem Leben ein.

Zu seinen Kunden zählen die größten Marken der Welt, die seine Schriftzüge und Illustrationen einsetzen. Seine Originalwerke sind ausgestellt zusammen mit einigen der größten Kalligraphen in den Sammlungen des San Francisco Public Library und der Berliner Sammlung Kalligraphie Hans-Joachim Burgert in der Akademie der Kunst in Berlin, von Werner Schneider, Denise Lach und Thomas.

Er hat sein eigenes Studio in Mailand, wo er als freischaffender Grafik-Designer und Kalligraph arbeitet. Seine Erfahrungen über Schriftzüge führte ihn von Graffiti zu klassischer Kalligraphie, bis hin zu großen Wandmalerei-Performances, Typografie und Buchdruck.

www.yesnogallery.com/lucabarcellona • www.lucabarcellona.com